Much needed sermon had to share 2/28/16

Pastor Rush was on point this morning.  He was speaking the truth, a lot of us need that. I know I do.  Talking about forgiveness.  It’s definitely a recent subject in my life.  I’m not completely healed but this is the breaking point of me letting it go.  Too many times we look at ourselves and pity ourselves, self talk like why did I go thru this, maybe God doesn’t love me.  Why is God taking so long to do something?  For example, you hear something bad happened to such an such person, and we are quick to say oh God don’t like ugly!  It is not up to us to get our revenge.  On a side note I have said Oh I hope he gets his Karma! No that is not Christian of me.  I have vented in blog form, but I need to just put it behind me so that I don’t dwell.  Back to the message: Pastor Rush breaks it down

  1.  It doesn’t seem fair Lord, but I’m trusting you to do what’s right.
  2.  It’s really hard for me to forgive, but I’m trusting you to be my defender.
  3. I’m hurting Lord please heal me.

Forgiveness is for our benefit.  When you can’t let go of the images of your past, it might be a song, a thought. whatever it is stop! bringing it back up.  Anytime you don’t release others that hurt you, you will continue to hurt yourself!   You will get to a point when you say Lord, I forgive them.

Unforgiveness breeds bitterness, all kinds of mess, hate, rage. Stop Carrying!  It’ll destroy where you’re headed.  Don’t remember what you’re supposed to forget!

You built up those walls after getting hurt, building walls with isolation.  Men mistreat you, women will hurt you.  Change your hang around.  Sometimes you say I don’t have a lot of women friends and then your feedback from men is flattering and complimentary, but what you need is counseling from women mentors in the  church.

  1. Start remembering your successes!
  2. Remember the Victories!
  3. God will give you the strength for the next day!

Remember that’s what they did, that’s not who I am.  Stop giving people the power to shut you down.  Be careful how you mistreat people, and how you put burdens on others.

I pray this was a blessing to you as it was to me. Thank you Lord for such a great Pastor to share his wo

 

Referenced scripture is the following:

Exodus 22:21-28The Message (MSG)

21 “Don’t abuse or take advantage of strangers; you, remember, were once strangers in Egypt.

22-24 “Don’t mistreat widows or orphans. If you do and they cry out to me, you can be sure I’ll take them most seriously; I’ll show my anger and come raging among you with the sword, and your wives will end up widows and your children orphans.

25 “If you lend money to my people, to any of the down-and-out among you, don’t come down hard on them and gouge them with interest.

26-27 “If you take your neighbor’s coat as security, give it back before nightfall; it may be your neighbor’s only covering—what else does the person have to sleep in? And if I hear the neighbor crying out from the cold, I’ll step in—I’m compassionate.

28 “Don’t curse God; and don’t damn your leaders.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

